Your District Council

The Village of Hornby-with-Farleton falls within the district of Lancaster and under the control of Lancaster City Council, their website is here

The following link is very useful, just put in your postcode, select your house number and it will tell you a wealth of information about your neighbourhood

What does Lancaster City Council do?

Local government in the Lancaster district is made up of three tiers:

  • Lancashire County Council
  • Lancaster City Council
  • Parish (and Town) Councils

Lancaster City Council is responsible for making many important decisions on behalf of local people. Strategic decisions, budget setting and performance monitoring are the responsibility of the elected councillors.

Lancaster City Council is responsible for:

What does Lancashire County Council do?

Lancashire County Council is responsible for:

What do parish councils do?

Parish councils have a wide range of powers essentially relating to local matters, including looking after community buildings, open spaces, allotments, play areas, street lighting and bus shelters

Go Back

Comments are closed.